Camera of Wonders

2015 - Mexico City / Medellín

Mexico City / Medellín

Camera of Wonders presents an associative display of more than one hundred photographic works spanning the history of photography. The exhibition brings together some of the most significant photographic artists of the last century as well as many of the most innovative contemporary photographers. The works are assembled from Colección Isabel y Agustín Coppel (CIAC A.C.) and the collection of Kadist Art Foundation. Using the wunderkammer and the iconic exhibition The Family of Man (1955) as points of departure, Camera of Wonders features an installation armature that places work according to their formal relationships, creating a transhistorical display that investigates the interchange between representation, narrative and abstraction. The exhibition offers an imaginative way of viewing, inviting visitors to observe their own methods of encoding what they see, and rediscovering their capacity to look at photography. The Mexico City-based architecture office Productora has designed the exhibition architecture, which transports the historical cabinet of curiosities into our present time.

Name: Camera of Wonders / Cámara de Maravillas
Location: Centro de la Imagen, Mexico City (October 2015 – February 2016), Museo de Arte Moderno de Medellín, Colombia.
Curated by Jens Hoffman
Presented by Colección Isabel y Agustín Coppel (CIAC) y Kadist Art Foundation
Participating artists: Berenice Abbott, Doug Aitken, Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla, Manuel Álvarez Bravo, Diane Arbus, Associated Press / US Air Force, Roger Ballen, Tom Baril, Lothar Baumgarten, Wimo Ambala Bayang, Peter Beard, Bernd and Hilla Becher, Julie Béna, Lucas Blalock, Karl Blossfeldt, Erwin Blumenfeld, Bill Brandt, Brassaï, Elina Brotherus, Jeff Burton, Arabella Campbell, Sarah Conaway, Nicolás Consuegra, Mario Cravo Neto, Alexandre da Cunha, William Eggleston, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, Lee Friedlander, Nan Goldin, Rodney Graham, Andreas Gursky, John Gutmann, Jonathan Hernández, Candida Höfer, Horst P. Horst, John Houck, Barbara Kasten, Seydou Keïta, Annette Kelm, André Kertész, Luisa Lambri, Elad Lassry, Adolf Lazi, Jochen Lempert, Matt Lipps, Daniel Joseph Martinez, Asier Mendizabal, Enrique Metinides, Tina Modotti, Jonathan Monk, Charlotte Moth, Jean-Luc Moulène, Óscar Muñoz, Davida Nemeroff, Kori Newkirk, Kiyoshi Niiyama, Catherine Opie, Gabriel Orozco, Irving Penn, Marta María Pérez Bravo, Pratchaya Phinthong, John Priola, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Thomas Ruff, Asha Schechter, Collier Schorr, Erin Shirreff, Aaron Siskind, Simon Starling, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Ron Terada, Wolfgang Tillmans, Jeff Wall, Weegee, James Welling, Edward Weston, Chris Wiley, Mariana Yampolsky

Museography design: PRODUCTORA (Carlos Bedoya, Victor Jaime, Wonne Ickx, Abel Perles) | Collaborators: Josué Palma (Project leader), Cristina González, Eustacio Muñoz | Type: Design of Museography | La invencible (Katerina Alatzia y Alejandro Tapia) | Curator: Jens Hofman | Graphic design: Jon Sueda (Stripe SF) | Client: Colección Isabel y Agustín Coppel (CIAC) y Kadist Art Foundation | Date: October 2015 | Photography: Luis Gallardo